Walking Through the Stories of Metal Gear Games in Order

The Metal Gear game is one of the longest-run series in the gaming story. In fact, it has been around since 1987. Throughout the years, there have been many additions to the game. Thus, it can be challenging to catch up in all Metal Gear games in order. If you’re a newcomer or returning fan, this post is for you. Here, we will be listing the Metal Gear release dates and stories in chronological order. At the same time, we will provide the best way to create a perfect Metal Gear timeline.

Metal Gear Timeline

Part 1. Metal Gear Release Timeline

Metal Gear is a game series created by Hideo Kojima. The game has captivated gamers with its intricate storytelling and innovative gameplay. If you want to play Metal Gear by release dates, we can help you. Check out the Metal Gear Solid timeline below.

Metal Gear Release Dates

Get a detailed Metal Gear release timeline.

1. 1987 - Metal Gear

2. 1990 - Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake

3. 1998 - Metal Gear Solid

4. 2001 Release - Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty

5. 2004 - Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater

6. 2006 - Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops

7. 2008 Releases - Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots; Metal Gear Solid Mobile; Metal Gear Online

8. 2010 - Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker

9. 2013 - Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance

10. 2014 - Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes

11. 2015 Release - Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain;

12. 2018 - Metal Gear Survive

Part 2. Metal Gear In Chronological Order

Now that you know the release date order of the Meta Gear, let’s now move on to its stories. The story of the game is complex and nonlinear. Nonetheless, below are the stories of Metal Gear games in chronological order. We’ve also made a visual presentation of it that you can view below.

Metal Gear in Order

Get a complete Metal Gear in chronological order.

Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (1964)

This game is a prequel and follows Naked Snake on a mission during the Cold War. After a tough fight, Naked Snake survives and gets a mission from his boss, Zero. In the end, Naked Snake becomes known as Big Boss, a famous soldier.

Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops (1970)

This game continues the story of Big Boss. Big Boss had a head-to-head fight with his former squad, FOX Unit. After being accused of treason, he goes back to the US. And later created a group of special ops soldiers called FOXHOUND.

Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker (1974)

After four years, Big Boss now leads the Militaires Sans Frontières (MSF) with Kazuhira Miller. He faces threats from rival organizations. While investigating, Big Boss discovers that his mentor, The Boss, is connected to the Peace Sentinels.

Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes (1975)

This is a prologue to Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain. It centers on Big Boss's rescue mission in a Cuban prison camp.

MGS V: The Phantom Pain (1984)

The game explores themes of revenge, loss, and the emergence of the villainous character Skull Face. The game concludes with Big Boss starting his plan to build Outer Heaven. It is a nation for soldiers to live without being exploited by secret government agendas.

Metal Gear (1995)

The original Metal Gear game features Solid Snake invading Outer Heaven to stop Metal Gear and confront Big Boss. It ends with a confrontation between Solid Snake and Big Boss. It is where Big Boss admits he was behind Outer Heaven's plans.

Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake (1999)

This sequel sees Solid Snake facing off against Big Boss again. But this time in Zanzibar Land, where a new Metal Gear, Metal Gear D, threatens the world. With the help of others, Snake sneaks in to destroy the dangerous weapon.

Metal Gear Solid (2005)

Solid Snake confronts his former unit, the FOXHOUND, led by Liquid Snake. The game ends with Snake declared killed in action by Colonel Campbell.

MGS 2: Sons of Liberty (2007-2009)

Raiden takes the lead as he battles the shadowy Patriots. He's sent to the Big Shell, an offshore facility built to clean up an oil spill caused by the tanker's sinking. The facility is taken over by the Sons of Liberty, who hold the US president hostage. By the end, Solid Snake joins Raiden to pursue Ocelot and the Patriots.

MGS 4: Guns of the Patriots (2014)

An aging Solid Snake returns to combat. His mission is to assassinate Liquid Ocelot and confront the consequences of nanomachines and the Patriot system.

Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (2018)

Set in the near future, Raiden, now a cyborg ninja, battles private military companies. He also confronts the ethical implications of advanced technology.

Part 3. Best Timeline Maker

The graphic presentation of the Metal Gear chronological timeline was made with MindOnMap. It is a free web-based diagram maker that lets you create your desired timeline. It supports several modern browsers, such as Google Chrome, Safari, Edge, and more. In addition, with its editing features, you can add elements like shapes, lines, text, and so on. Further, adding links and pictures is also possible. It also offers various templates, including organizational charts, treemaps, fishbone diagrams, and more. Apart from that, it also has an auto-saving feature. The program will save all the changes you made within your work or project. What’s more, MindOnMap also allows you to collaborate with your friends or peers.

Now, if you prefer doing a diagram without opening any browser, you may download the tool on your computer. Begin creating your full metal gear timeline with the help of MindOnMap.

Free Download

Secure Download

Free Download

Secure Download

Make Timeline MindOnMap

Part 4. FAQs About Metal Gear Timeline

In which order should I play Metal Gear?

It is better to play the Metal Gear games in their release order. In this way, you will witness the evolution of the series throughout the years.

How does Metal Gear Rising fit into the timeline?

Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a spin-off game set in the year 2018. It features Raiden from the Metal Gear Solid series. Yet, it has a separate storyline and doesn't directly connect to the main series' timeline.

Is Metal Gear Solid 5 a prequel?

Definitely, yes. Metal Gear Solid 5 is a prequel to the Metal Gear Solid series. It takes place before the events of the original Metal Gear game.


In summary, through the complete Metal Gear timeline, you’ve learned the release dates and events in order. As a result, knowing where to start in the game became easier. Moreover, with MindOnMap, we have a clearer understanding of the game’s timeline. Among many timeline makers, this online program stands out the best. It has a straightforward interface, which is suitable for beginners and professionals. It offers outstanding diagram editing tools, allowing users to create their desired timeline. So, to experience it best, try it today.

Make Mind Map

Create Your Mind Map as You Like


An easy-to-use mind mapping maker to draw your ideas online visually and inspire creativity!